Menu Close


Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize, 2023

Awarded by Optica, formerly the Optical Society of America, it is the highest award of the Society, recognizing overall distinction in optics. The prize was established in 1928 by Herbert E. Ives in honor of

Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids, American Physical Society, 2020

This prize recognizes outstanding optical research that leads to breakthroughs in the condensed matter sciences.

Elected as fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC), 2019

Robert Boyd was elected fellows of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) for “For fundamental contributions to optical physics and specifically to the field of nonlinear optics.” His significant contributions include the development of methods

Elected as Corresponding Member of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, 2018

In 2018, Robert Boyd was elected by the the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities as a Corresponding Member. This is a learned society of eminent scientists with international reputation. The Academy can look back

University of Ottawa Award for Excellence in Research, 2018-19

Robert Boyd was awarded this honour for the importance and exceptional characteristics of his research work in Photonics, which has earned distinction for himself and for the University of Ottawa.

Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science, American Physical Society, 2016

This award is given by the Division of Laser Science of the APS to recognize outstanding contributions to basic research that uses lasers to advance knowledge of the fundamental physical properties of materials and their

Charles Hard Townes Award, Optical Society of America, 2016

The Charles Hard Townes Award is given for contributions to quantum electronics. Robert W. Boyd is receiving the award for his fundamental contributions to the field of nonlinear optics, including the development of methods for

IEEE Fellow for contributions to the fields of nonlinear optics and photonics, 2017

The IEEE Fellow is one of the most prestigious honours of the IEEE, and is bestowed upon a very limited number of Senior Members who have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering,

Honorary Doctor of Science Degree from the University of Glasgow, 2014

On July 2 2014 Professor Boyd was awarded an honorary doctor of science (DSc) degree by the University of Glasgow in the United Kingdom. The doctorate degree recognizes Boyd’s “considerable contributions” in the field of

IEEE Quantum Electronics Award, 2014

The Quantum Electronics Award is given to honor an individual (or group of individuals) for outstanding technical contributions to quantum electronics, either in fundamentals or application or both. The Award may be for a single